Skip to content

Why We’re Budgeting…

April 2, 2011

There are a few reasons that I/we budget…Any of these match you?

  1. I like keeping track of things. I used to keep track of baseball cards. I diligently kept track of birds a few years ago. Keeping track of money just makes sense.
  2. I like having more of something than I really need. I don’t really care about being rich, but I like knowing that if there is some kind of emergency, I have enough accessible money to cover things. Having enough money, and knowing that you have enough money are related, but are two different things.
  3. I like organization. I like when my desk is organized. I like when our home is organized. I love a good organized garage. Keeping our money, accounts, and bills organized is part of what I like doing.
  4. Whenever I’ve worked with people who are struggling with their finances, almost without exception, they weren’t using a budget. No idea what they’ve spent, no guess as to what they will be spending.
  5. Wealthy people track and budget their finances. Again, almost without exception.
  6. Keeping a detailed budget allows me to see exactly how we are doing with our finances at any given time during the month.
  7. I feel like a steward of things. I have a stewardship concerning my family, my talents, my opportunities, and (of course) my money. I like to think that there is more to having money than to just save a bunch of it until I die. I want to see my money being used, given away, growing, and being saved. And, I like to keep track of that stuff.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

