Skip to content

Have You Seen the Gas Prices?!?!?!

April 13, 2011

I caught CNN’s article on current and near-future gas prices. Sigh. To see what gas prices are averaging in your state click on this interactive map from CNN. I get stressed out by gas prices for two reasons. First, I drive by a gas station everyday, twice (at least), and can’t help but notice the change in the price of unleaded. Over the last two weeks, our local gas went from $3.43 to $3.53. My knuckles whiten as I grip the steering wheel…

The second reason is that our family has a yearly family reunion with my parents/brothers (and their families) where we usually drive hundreds of miles to our destination. We love the trip and being with family, but gas prices are going to make the trip a bit “tighter” than normal. And we don’t have thew worst of it. One of my brothers and his family has to fly!

So, here are a few things we’re doing to help:

  1. Drive less. If we don’t have to go, we don’t.
  2. Put trips together. We have some clothing we need to take back to a store that is about 20 minutes away, but we’re waiting until we have three things to do in that town before we go.
  3. A few years ago I purchased a scooter. It is a 1986 Honda Elite 250. Pure power. The tank only holds about 2 gallons, and it gets about 50 miles to the gallon. Gas sure seems cheaper when it is paid for two gallons at a time. I take this thing everywhere that I can, whenever possible.
  4. I’m going to ride my bike to work this summer when possible. It is only a few miles.
  5. We have saved up extra money for this summer’s trip. Usually we just save a little for the trip in the summer, but since gas will be more of a problem, we’ve decided to save all of the money we’ll need for gas, so that it doesn’t ding our budget.

You could also just choose not to drive somewhere. I talked to a couple a few months ago about their budget. We were discussing the different categories and as we talked about their gas/transportation budget, I asked what happens where the gas money runs out before the month does. The husband shrugged. I said, “Well, what if the money runs out and you had a trip planned to see your family for Thanksgiving?” He shrugged again and said, “We don’t go…”

Gas prices had better get themselves fixed…or else…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiffany permalink
    April 15, 2011 2:28 pm

    I started riding my bike/walking everywhere, I mean everywhere, a week ago just because it’s been nice outside and wanted exercise. When I saw the gas prices, I was so happy because even though it takes more time it is worth it. Physically and financially! My kids are not fans, but they will be I tell ya! You notice your neighbors flowers, how many dang cats are in your neighborhood, and a bunch more stuff! I’m excited to see how much we save in gas money after awhile.

    • April 15, 2011 4:04 pm

      Tiff, I feel the same way. Of course, it is zero degrees and rainy all the time right now where I’m at. But I’m excited for a little warmer weather. I’m a wimp. But I’m pretty excited to ride the bike…

Leave a Reply

