Skip to content

Items We’re Willing to Splurge On…

May 8, 2011

Most of this blog centers on the idea of finding ways to be frugal, save money, and remain happily-disciplined. So, the following is going to seem out of the ordinary.

A few days ago, my friend Bonnie suggested that I post about items we’re willing to splurge a little on. That’s a tough one. I’m not really the type of guy who splurges often. There really aren’t day-to-day things that we love so much that we spend a lot of money on. If you think of any, we’d be interested. I don’t get a ton of satisfaction when I kind of forget my budget and just buy something, and I get a lot of satisfaction when I’ve saved money. Maybe too much satisfaction. I’m not known to keep a solid balance in life.

Here are some things we’ve splurged on in the past:

  1. We bought a new car a long time ago. We bought a 1996 Toyota Tercel with only 6 miles on it. The next time we do that, I’ll probably be around 95, with less than 5 years to go before my demise.
  2. We splurged on a nice LCD TV. We really don’t watch a lot of TV, but we got a pretty decent deal and enjoy it when we watch it.
  3. I buy Apple products (don’t hate). We’ve purchased the iMac, a MacBook White, two iPhones, one iPod Classic, and one iPod Touch. But the only ones we bought that weren’t refurbished were the iPhones and the iPod Touch.
Here are some things we spend a little more on and probably will continue to:
  1. “Sunday shoes”. I’ve noticed that when I’ve purchased cheaper shoes, they wear out so quickly I end up buying shoes so often. Now I buy higher quality shoes and try to really take care of them.
  2. Every once in awhile we go out to dinner with little regard to how much it will cost. We don’t go to super expensive places, but it is nice to eat out at a nice place every once in awhile. Since we don’t eat fast food very often (sometimes we don’t go out at all for one or two months) we don’t feel too bad eating at a nice place.
  3. We only buy Atwood’s Ranch Dressing. I would never buy another type of ranch dressing. And I wouldn’t care what they charged for it. I’d pay anything. It is that good. If I could find a link for it, I’d give it to you…
  4. I know that blocks of cheese are expensive, but I like nachos.
  5. Our family likes going to the movies. When you’re taking seven people, it costs quite a bit. We don’t mind, and we don’t do it too often.
  6. We don’t spend a lot on magazines, but it seems like we get a lot of magazines in the mail. We get National Geographic, Real Simple, Mac World, The Ensign, The New Era, The Friend, Better Homes and Gardens, Money Magazine, the Smithsonian, National Geographic for Kids, Boy’s Life, and maybe a few more. I’d like to get the Economist, too. One reason we get so many is that we like reading. A lot. And it encourages our children to read. I know that we could probably get some of these online, but what would we sit by the toilet? We also buy a lot of books, but never, ever at full price! Thank you Amazon!
  7. Tools. Except here is my policy: When I need a tool, if I can’t borrow one, I try to find one at a garage sale for a great price. I use it for year until I really understand the tool and know what I want. Then I save up and spend what I need to in order to have a good useable tool I can keep for decades.
  8. Camera Lenses. I have a small photography business on the side. The body of my camera is fine, and I’m in no hurry to upgrade. But lenses matter more than anything else. So I’m not opposed to paying good money for a quality lens that I’ll have for decades.
I really can’t think of anything else. I would do a post on what we try to save money on, but the list just consists of almost everything else…
So, what are you willing to splurge on? Share in the comments…
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie permalink
    May 8, 2011 9:49 pm

    I feel like I have to comment because you wrote this post for me. I feel so special! I have to say that I totally agree on splurging on Macs and the Atwoods ranch (as we talked about before). Most of the things I can think of that we splurge is food items at the grocery store. Probably since I do all of the grocery shopping, and apparently we are “foodies.” I have found that cheese is something you have to splurge on, at least the blocks of cheese. I used to get just the good old “western family” 2 pound blocks of cheese, but after having too many blocks lately taste like processed cheese or melting funny (grainy like), we have switched to Tillamonk. Now Shad says I can never go back because he has tasted the good stuff. Haken also asks me every time we have cheese if this is “the good cheese.” Too bad it is like twice the price if I don’t get it on sale for a screaming deal! Anyway…that is my two cents on cheese.

    • May 8, 2011 9:58 pm

      Thanks for the post idea. So, it looks like it is time to get you to be one of the “Guest Bloggers” here in the next few weeks!!!!

    • May 8, 2011 9:58 pm

      And yes, you guys are foodies…total foodies….

  2. Trapper permalink
    May 9, 2011 9:32 am

    One of the things we have found it worth spending extra on is a good set of hair clippers. We do boys haircuts at home (3 of us) and the cheap hair clippers from walmart never really seem to do a good job. So we did some research and got a nice set of professional hair clippers and guards for somewhere around $100 that work great! I don’t know if you can really call it splurging since we are saving money by not going to pay for a haircut once a month, but it is definitely worth getting something that does a good job vs buying the cheap ones and replacing them once a year!

    • Bonnie permalink
      May 9, 2011 9:54 am

      Totally agree with buying nice clippers. My husband cuts his own and my son’s hair. We went through quite a few clippers before buying nice ones. It really is worth it.

Leave a Reply

