Skip to content

There is a Small Chance that I will Gladly Pay a Yearly Fee for my Credit Card…

August 23, 2011

…as much as I HATE the thought of it. I really, really, really, really hate monthly and yearly fees. Since we “downsized” to Netlfix+”over the air HD” instead of cable or satellite, I’ve loved not seeing a cable/satellite bill each month. But I still am bugged when I see the $7.99 Netlfix charge. I know, I’m lame. First World problems…I get it. Waaa. But still…

With that in mind, you’ll understand why I’ve never ever paid a yearly fee for having a credit card. But, after reading this article on why you might consider finding a card that has a yearly fee in exchange for the benefits, I may change my mind.

The point of the article is that this guy found a card that has such great cash-back rewards, that paying $75 a year for the card is totally worth it. Right now, we get cash back on our credit card, and there is no yearly fee. But if I could get more than $75 a year in cash-back benefits than I am currently earning, then paying $75 is worth it.

Almost everyone uses a credit card, and getting free money just for paying for things you have to pay for anyway makes sense. So if there is a way to maximize that benefit, I’m all for it.

I don’t know. I’ll have to crunch some numbers. Read the article and tell me what you think…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bonnie permalink
    October 6, 2011 11:28 am

    Did you ever end up getting a new credit card with a fee? I have been looking at this one with 6% cash back on groceries, 3% on gas and 1% on everything else. I’m trying to crunch the numbers, but if I use this one I won’t be using my discover really anymore. I’m afraid to switch. What do you think?
    http://www304.americanexpress.com/getthecard/learn-about/BlueCash-Preferred/26130?PID=1&BUID=CCG&PSKU=BCP&CRTV=MBCP&EAID=IFCDlDPytUk-nZBGQqSaUyLt%2F3MOYAIFNQ

Leave a Reply

